BYLAW 8/94

A BYLAW TO ENTER INTO AN AGREEMENT WITH THE RURAL MUNICIPALITY OF BIG RIVER NO. 555 TO ESTABLISH A JOINT EMERGENCY MEASURES ORGANIZATION.

The Council of the Town of Big River in the Province of Saskatchewan, hereby enact as follows;

- 1. The Town of Big River is hereby authorized to enter into an agreement with the Rural Municipality of Big River, the terms of which are attached hereto and marked as Exhibit "A" to this bylaw.
- Bylaw No. 8, 1973 is hereby repealed.

SEAL

Mayor Laur

Odministrator

READ A THIRD TIME AND ADOPTED THIS 20th DAY OF SEPTEMBER, 1994.

Certified A True Copy

of Bylaw #_8/94

Town Administrator

EXHIBIT "A" to Bylaw No. 8/94 Memorandum of Agreement made this 23 day of Sept. 1994. A.D.

BETWEEN:

The Rural Municipality of Big River No. 555, a municipal corporation of and in the Province of Saskatchewan,

Hereinafter referred to as the RM

AND

The Town of Big River, a municipal corporation of and in the Province of Saskatchewan,

Hereinafter referred to as the Town

The Rural Municipality of Big River No. 555 and the Town of Big River agree to the following;

1. EMERGENCY MEASURES ORGANIZATION

 The Town and the RM shall establish a joint emergency measures organization, known as the Big River and District Emergency Measures Organization, hereinafter referred to as the BREMO.

2. EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

- The Town and RM shall establish an Executive Committee which shall be responsible for the following;
 - a) The appointment of a Emergency Measures Coordinator,
 - b) The annual preparation and submission of the BREMO's budget to be submitted to the Town and RM Council for their approval no later than March 15th in each year.
 - Overseeing the development of an emergency plan for the Town and RM and to have it presented to the Town and RM Council for their approval.
 - d) Exercise overall responsibility of planning and coordinating emergency measures within the Town and RM.

2. EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE - Continued

- The Executive Committee shall comprise of the following people;
 - a) The Reeve
 - b) The Deputy Reeve
 - c) The Mayor
 - d) The Deputy Mayor
- The RM Administrator shall be the Secretary Treasurer of the Executive Committee and shall have no voting powers.
- 4. Notwithstanding Section 2 (2), the Emergency Measures Coordinator, upon being appointed, shall also be a member of the Executive Committee and shall have no voting powers.
- The Executive Committee shall at its first meeting of each year appoint a Chairperson and Vice Chairperson
- The Executive Committee shall meet as many times as necessary to carry out their duties and responsibilities.

3. PLANNING COMMITTEE

- 1. The Town and RM shall establish a Planning Committee.
- The Emergency Measures Coordinator shall be the Chairperson of this Committee.
- The Committee shall be comprised of the following;
 - a) The Emergency Measures Coordinator
 - b) The Reeve or Deputy Reeve
 - c) The Mayor or Deputy Mayor
 - d) Any other persons that are considered necessary.
- 4. The Planning Committee shall establish a municipal emergency plan governing the provision of necessary services during an emergency and the procedures under and the manner in which persons will respond to an emergency.
- 5. The Committee shall update the emergency plan annually.

4. MUTUAL AID AREA

 The Councils of the RM and Town may cooperate with Councils of other municipalities for the purpose of jointly establishing and operating a Mutual Aid Area Emergency Measures Organization.



SEAL

Eugene Awanson Reeve

Odministrator

Mayor

Herrice Swa.